top of page

POP a message when selected dates are more than 7 days.


Let me introduce you to my data first which is pretty simple.

I have a table with products, category, units sold and date at which that particular product was sold.

I created a bar chart (units sold v/s category) and a date slicer.

I only want to show visual when selected number of days are less than or equal to 7.


Just above the visual a created a card which will be made visible/ transparent based on date difference. In the card pass a messsage measure in fileds.


Message = " Selected dates are more than 7 "



Create a DAX Measure to get date difference - Date diff = var _start = MIN(Sheet1[Date]) var _end = MAX(Sheet1[Date]) return DATEDIFF(_start,_end,DAY)+1


Create a flag to check if date difference is greater than or equal to 7 or not ISok = IF(int([Date diff])<=7, 1,0)

Using the flag measure create a new measure that will be used in background colour value of the card created over the bar chart.

Make Transparent ok check = IF( [ISok], "#FFFFFF00", "White" )

And one measure for the color of message in the card. Make transparent msg = IF( [ISok], "#FFFFFF00", "#A1343C" )



In the format tab of card visual select FX in the background colour and select make transparent ok check measure.


And format style as - Field Value







Put the measure Make tranparent message in Callout Value colour FX option.


And format style as - Field Value













And it's done ! Quite Easy right ?

You can go ahead and use these fundamentals to play around more with visibility.

Happy learning !



Comments


IMG20220901112503.jpg

Hi, I'm Bhawana

I am currently working as Business analyst - Power bi developer in India. I am a self starter and self learner.

LEARNING & CREATING 

I created this is blog to let my lerning and experinces be uselful to someone who is stuck anywhere while wrorking with power BI.  

Remember we all get stuck .

bottom of page